Memories for a friend

My friend died on Saturday. I found out on Sunday morning and I think I’ve been in shock since that phone call. Her name was Ronnell. She was beautiful and funny. She struggled with many things and she loved well. I’ve known her for over half my life.

Coping with her death today has been full of tears, conversations with friends (who have been and always will be more like family), and memories. Here are some of mine…

Sitting in my parents kitchen and Ronnell asking me to cut her hair. I didn’t know how to cut hair and told her so. She said I’d do fine, just go for it. I went for it, all right. And Ronnell’s mom had to take her to get her hair fixed at the salon. Ha!

All of us making that stupid Amy Grant video at Ronnell’s house!! Also the Eternity commercial and the rapture video… those special effects were amazing. I’m not sure what we were thinking, but that day, as always, there was so much laughter. Always laughter.

Whenever I think about her room I think about the Reading is Fun poster she had on the wall featuring R.E.M. and our endless conversations about Michael Stipe. Where did you even get that poster??

Other memories just keep on coming.

-Newts.
-The word “ergo”.
-Peaceful Valley.
-Prank calls late at night when everyone was camped out at Matt and Les’s house. We’d call some random person and immediately begin boisterously singing “Happy Birthday” to them, pretending we knew them. Not one person ever got mad at us for those calls. I think we made their day.

It will never be right that she isn’t here to share the rest of our days with us, however many days we may have. She will always be loved and honored and deeply missed. We’re not the same without her.

Tonight I hold her momma and her sister in my prayers.

Love you, Ronnell. Thank you for your friendship. I grieve for you with true hope. We will meet again.

20120820-031027.jpg

One thought on “Memories for a friend

Leave a Reply

