something outside of ourselves

Today started out good.  We have all been a little sick over New Year’s, but nothing horrible.  So, it started out good.  Then, all of a sudden, it was like something descended.  A cloud. Gloominess. Bad moods.  Restlessness.

I see things like this happen at work sometimes too.

I think that sometimes it’s something outside of ourselves.  That’s not to excuse short tempers or grumpiness, but honestly, I really think that’s the case sometimes.

I began to pray a little bit, and I have continued to throughout the afternoon.  I simply began by thanking Jesus for everything we have.  I think a thankful heart changes the way I feel, no matter the atmosphere.

That’s not to say that I haven’t been a bit short with Patrik and impatient at times with Eli, but I will continue to pray into tonight.
Job 22:28 says: “You shall also decree a thing, and it shall be established for you: and the light will shine on your ways.” As the website where I was reading this scripture says, “it didn’t say to ask God to do something for you.  Rather, decree a thing, and it shall be established.” So, before I go to bed, I am going to decree peace and hope in our house tonight, and whatever else God drops into my heart to decree.

Job 22 is magical.  The power of the love of God in the following verses shoots some major hope and faith into me.  Check out the way The Message presents it:

26-30 “You’ll take delight in God, the Mighty One,
and look to him joyfully, boldly.
You’ll pray to him and he’ll listen;
he’ll help you do what you’ve promised.
You’ll decide what you want and it will happen;
your life will be bathed in light.
To those who feel low you’ll say, ‘Chin up! Be brave!’
and God will save them.
Yes, even the guilty will escape,
escape through God’s grace in your life.”

Leave a Reply

