they found God somehow inside them

C.S. Lewis in Mere Christianity:

“And that is how Theology started. People already knew about God in a vague way. Then came a man who claimed to be God; and yet He was not the sort of man you could dismiss as a lunatic. He made them believe Him. They met Him again after they had seen Him killed. And then, after they had been formed into a little society or community, they found God somehow inside them as well: directing them, making them able to do things they could not’ do before. And when they worked it all out they found they had arrived at the Christian definition of the three-personal God.”[Ch. 2, 163]
God can show Himself as He really is only to real men. And that means not simply to men who are individually good, but to men who are united together in a body, loving one another, helping one another….
“Consequently, the one really adequate instrument for learning about God is the whole Christian community, waiting for Him together. Christian brotherhood is, so to speak, the technical equipment for this science—the laboratory outfit.” [Ch. 2, 165]

“He will make the feeblest and filthiest of us into a god or goddess, a dazzling, radiant, immortal creature, pulsating all through with such energy and joy and wisdom and love as we cannot now imagine, a bright stainless mirror which reflects back to God perfectly (though, of course, on a smaller scale) His own boundless power and delight and goodness.”  [Ch. 9, 206]

I KNOW this is true, God. What do I do with it now? And how do I do it? How do we do this God, starting from where I am today, now, from where we are? I want to be on fire with you, despite the fact that we are so used to this language now days if we have had anything at all to do with church. I want to be on fire with you so I can love. So the love in me isn’t stolen up, like it is on a lot of days, by sarcasm and hard days.  So I can care about people instead of mocking them. So that I can get together with friends who profess to be believers and sometimes… just sometimes… it doesn’t have to be every time… just fill each other with hope and be excited that we know you and believe in you and can know people who need love and know how to give it to them in the way that they need to receive it.

Every day – every day! In an office cubicle I could be on fire.  How do I catch on fire, God?  How do I love??

Thank you for today!! Thank you for my son and my family. Thank you for what you have provided for us. Thank you.

3 thoughts on “they found God somehow inside them

  1. Yes! Yes! Yes!…..I want this to God. I pray Lord that you would hear our prayers and thru our stuborn human ways help us to be more like you. Thank you for your mercy.

Leave a Reply

