free

It was then I knew I’d had enough,
Burned my credit card for fuel
Headed out to where the pavement turns to sand
With a one-way ticket to the land of truth
And my suitcase in my hand
How I lost my friends I still don’t understand.

They had the best selection,
They were poisoned with protection
There was nothing that they needed,
Nothing left to find
They were lost in rock formations
Or became park bench mutations
On the sidewalks and in the stations
They were waiting, waiting.

So I got bored and left them there,
They were just deadweight to me
Better down the road without that load

I just heard the Neil Young song Thrasher for the first time ever and I LOVE these lyrics!!  It reminds me a lot of leaving the whole organized church thing. I didn’t get fellowship there. I didn’t like it. It made me dead and not alive. The part of the song that says “They had the best selection, they were poisoned with protection, there was nothing that they needed, nothing left to find”.  Reminds me so much of so many of the people that I left behind in that place.  Best decision I ever made leaving that machine.  Don’t feel so bitter now, just relieved when I think of what was compared to what is now, in my life. Thanks Jesus.

4 thoughts on “free

  1. Never before has it been as clear to me as it is now that the Bride of Christ (the Church) has been exploited and prostituted into unrecognizable oblivion. Abuse in the name of the church is rampant and after all these years of you telling me thus… the third church and final straw has been pulled. No more “church” for me – only Jesus. I need COMMUNITY not a gang of users and abusers.

    Additionally, having my Christian therapist (and wife of the assistant pastor at church) BLOCK ME on FB after I deleted her is a good start for reconciliation. (SARCASM). WHO on God’s green earth are these people, Shannon? I really want to know. And the bottom line is that the CHURCH itself is not corrupt – it’s the people in the church who shame her. Like Brennan Manning said:

    “The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today… is Christians who acknowledge Jesus with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is simply what an unbelieving world finds unbelievable.”

    TRUTH.

Leave a Reply

