TrUtH

Plato said, “Truth is His body, and light His shadow” in his description of God.  I love that picture of God so much, not just because the words are beautiful, but because it seems to describe Him so well.

In between the normal days and conversations, I always find that I am wanting to be enveloped in truth.  I want the political worries and debates to fall by the wayside for awhile.  I want the stress of money or relationships to melt away.  I want to be hugged by Jesus, the Truth.  I want to be lit up by the Light and undone by Him loving me with His kindness and gentleness and compassion.  I want the sarcasm to disappear into His smile, I want to feel whole and at peace, I want to know what to hope for in Him and I want to R E S T while He loves me.  Every day.

Then the busyness comes in again and that brief second of reality where I actually acknowledge and feel the longing, without being embarrassed by it or putting guilt on myself for ignoring it, it goes away and I lose it again for awhile… and I can say the words and write some posts and try to speak to a choice friend or two about it… but until comes like a wave of life into my moment again I’ll try to remember that He is that reality that I am craving.

Maybe tomorrow when I’m walking down the sidewalk on my way in to work I’ll see some light shining through the tree branches by my office building and I’ll remember that it’s His shadow, a reminder of Him and His presence with me right there, right here.

What is really important?  THAT is the question for now.

I love Jesus!! He’s so full of love for me and I hope I can soak it in tonight when I go lay down in my bed to sleep.

Psalm 4 says:

6 Many are asking, “Who can show us any good?”
Let the light of your face shine upon us, O LORD.

7 You have filled my heart with greater joy
than when their grain and new wine abound.

8 I will lie down and sleep in peace,
for you alone, O LORD,
make me dwell in safety.”

Trust in the Lord (O my soul).

Leave a Reply

