a conversation with tennessee williams in my head

All of the quotes in this post (in bold & italics) are by Tennessee Williams.

“There is a time for departure even when there’s no certain place to go.”

Sometimes I wish I could leave my job even though I don’t have any other place to go right now.

“A prayer for the wild at heart, kept in cages.”

Maybe that’s why I feel so trapped at work.

“Hell is yourself and the only redemption is when a person puts himself aside to feel deeply for another person.”

That is a cool thing to think about… compassion is so important. I was just thinking about it today. I feel that I lack it often. When I do have it I feel that I don’t often act on it.  In the rare times when I do act on it, I feel that I have held hands with God and loved someone without fail.

“I have found it easier to identify with the characters who verge upon hysteria, who were frightened of life, who were desperate to reach out to another person. But these seemingly fragile people are the strong people really.”

Beautiful, and I think it’s basically and often, true.

“The violets in the mountains have broken the rocks.”

I don’t know the story wrapped around this sentence, but I think it’s beautiful. To me it means something that is soft and vibrant and beautiful is stronger than something solid and tough.  Don’t know, just love the thoughts in those words.

*****

Some nights I just need to hear what other people think.  Hear someone else’s depths. So that tomorrow when I get up and go back to another monotonous day at work I can have something to think about that makes me feel more alive.

🙂 Goodnight.

5 thoughts on “a conversation with tennessee williams in my head

  1. “Hell is yourself and the only redemption is when a person puts himself aside to feel deeply for another person.”

    WOW. I’m really tempted to passive aggressively forward that on to some folks. I don’t know that folks who are unwilling to let their soft underbellies show are TRULY ABLE to extend a small measure of genuine compassion. Thanks for loving me in my persistent unloveliness, Shan.

    Lastly, I adore Tennessee (the state & the man).

  2. You think I am loving you in your unloveliness. I know I am loving YOU. And you are precious AND lovely. Thanks for reading my blog. It makes me happy to hear from you. xxxx

  3. Shannon, I have been feeling the same way for the longest about my job, creativity etc…I have had a hard time expressing myself lately. It seems that the only thing being expressed thru me freely has been anger. It has been really hard for me to be tender (except to a select few). I am a total bitch at work and I feel horrible because I am around these people all the time. I feel like God has forgotten about me and I cant find my purpose….all I keep thinking is I will be 40 in July and how depressing it is that this is possibly all there is to my little life.
    Ok, so I dont mean to dump on you, but I get the feeling you understand me a bit.
    Thank you for your honesty that inspires me to be real.

  4. Lisa, you are not dumping on me!! You’re being honest and I love you for it. Dang, I love you for it!! God has not forgotten you. I’m not sure what is going on, but I know He can’t forget you and He doesn’t want to.

    I am struggling with the same things. What does it mean to be a follower of Jesus here and now. I know I am not living it up to the fullest, but I’m tired of guilt as well as anger. I want Jesus more. How do I get him more? What does he have and want for me? I want HIM and angels and healing and love to flow but HOW?? I want that all because I BELIEVE Him and know Him. So… Jesus, where are you at work and in the everyday feelings of helplessness, of not being one of the people who know how to just “get it’ and move forward?

    I am praying and praying in my heart and with my thoughts and longing all the time in this. I want to see Jesus and for my life to count… in a way that fulfills me, not just knowing I matter to God because He created me. UGH!!! : ) And Woohoo!!! : )

    Love you. Keep it coming!!!

Leave a Reply

