I love it!!

I’m up in the middle of the night, which is absolutely STUPID because I fell asleep as soon as the baby did earlier this evening because I was so exhausted I was feeling faint and a bit ill. So why the hell am I awake (WIDE awake) at 1:25 a.m.? Who knows… BUT I decided to take a look at one of my favorite web sites called Sacred Space.  Check out what I read there:

Jesus, faced with a man who had been crippled for thirty-eight years, asked a peculiar question, ‘Do you want to be healed?’(John 5:1) The man had been coming daily to the pool of Bethzatha; it was part of his routine. Being delicate can become a way of life. Some grow accustomed to being a victim, to being helped, to being dependent, to being unable to walk and to fend for themselves. Jesus restores people not just to the absence of complaints, but to energy and service. When he cured Simon’s mother-in-law, she got out of bed and prepared a meal.

What bit of ourselves do we want to be healed? Everyone has a weakness where stress shows: nose, tummy, nerves, addiction, sleep, anxiety, fears, pains, rashes. We can be too limited and unambitious in our prayer for healing. A lovely description of mental health (from Freud) is “the capacity to love and to work”. Shalom means wholeness.

Jesus’ ministry focused on the sick, that they should have life and have it more abundantly. God is pure act. Heaven is more than eternal rest. The music of heaven is full of energy, not just Massanet’s Meditation or monastic chant, but the Beatles, the Chieftains – any music to dance to.

Whoever wrote that is awesome, what a  cool way to look at healing and heaven. Where do I want to be healed?  A good question to ponder in the early hours of the night, a good time to seek God and hang out with Jesus.  Someday, before I die and get to be with him 100%, I hope that I can be able to be his friend here, on this side of life, as much as it is possible and as much as his heart longs for me to be.

Leave a Reply

