where are we going? I don’t know!!

“There is a time for departure even when there’s no certain place to go.” (Tennessee Williams) (Can you tell that I’m on a Tennessee Williams kick lately??!)

This post is for those of us who have stepped off of the cliff and taken the plunge into the unknown depths of being the church without being religious.  Now, that’s not to say that we don’t still have religion coursing through our veins that likes to bleed out every once in awhile (usually just when we think we’ve ridded ourselves of it!), but it is to say that we have, in one way or another, taken a road less traveled because we have been brave enough to begin to follow the Spirit’s voice that led us away from what we knew and what was old-school structured.

The message I want to proclaim to you today?  It’s simple:

YOU ARE NOT ALONE. (Don’t let anyone tell you that you are. If no other visible person is with you, remember that the Invisible savior is with you.  Dip into Him and have some sweet communion… and may your loneliness evaporate in His presence.) (And may you not believe the lie that the church on the corner as we know it… or home churches… are the best we’ve got so you might as well stay in there even if you feel like you’re suffocating… we’ve got something better – IF the Spirit is leading you this way, that is. It’s better to follow the Spirit… always. Wherever He leads, follow.)

Don’t be afraid.  Here are the words of “Beyond the Window” by Jason Upton to comfort and encourage you today:

Take it real deep inside
Breathe reality inside now
Take a breath of the pure oxygen of heaven now

And just believe… just believe…
Just believe… just believe…
Just believe… just believe…

In the moment where it looks like you lost all your power
In the moment where you are all alone
As you wait for me… as you wait for me…
Sometimes, there’s just nothing left to do, so you wait for me

When everybody, that you thought was your friend leaves you
I will never leave you…
I will come to you in the midst of your heartache
I will come to you in the midst of your pain
I will come to you in the midst of your lonliness
I will come to you in the midst of your rejection

And breathe new life…
Breathe new life into you
Breathe new life into you

Stay and wait wait upon the lord
I will renew your strength
They will run and not get weary
They will walk and shall not faint

I never leave you…
So as you wait
And you wait on me…
As you wait on me

Give you wings like the eagles
New wings, new wings
New power that you never known
As you wait on me

Your not alone…
Breaking off rejection…
He’s breaking off rejection…

Look beyond the window there
There’s a sky above, there’s an open air

Don’t be afraid…
Your not alone…
Your not alone…

I never leave you
I never leave you
I never leave you

Leave a Reply

