joy

I have to say that having a child is by far the most rewarding and incredible experience I’ve ever had in my life.  It doesn’t matter what kind of day I’m having or how little money is in the bank or what kind of mood others around me are in… when I get to be with little Elijah I know what it feels like to feel pure joy.  Before he was in my life I recall experiencing real joy on certain occasions… when I felt the presence of God or seeing family I hadn’t seen for a long time, but it was there and then I was less aware of it as time went on.  However, with Eli, I am completely in love and so full of that love and happiness whenever I look at him or hear him cooing and making sounds or in the middle of the night when I’m feeding him. That joy literally makes my heart feel like it wants to explode because it’s so full and it just keeps going.  It’s awesome and I never expected this!!!!!  What a gift he is!!!!!  Having him is making me more aware of the way God views me and sometimes that revelation is overwhelming… now I know why He can extend so much grace to me – to us – because He is love and He delights in me. He is quite simply in love with me.  I understand what it means to delight in someone now and to be in love with them beyond words and explanations. I delight in Eli because he is Eli and because he is mine. 

Sometimes I realize:  Life really is beautiful.

One thought on “joy

  1. He is gorgeous Shannon! If we could all comprehend even a small amount of God’s love for us, this world would be such a different place! I’m so glad that He is giving you that through your sweet baby boy 🙂 Love you!

Leave a Reply

